Burn the midnight oil


image

 

It seems that many creative types love to work late at night. That’s when the muse speaks to them. The problem for me is that I cannot keep my eyes open past 10pm. Maybe its because my toddler sucks all of my energy so by the time I try to code I end up falling asleep in front of my laptop. I inevitably wake up to a blank screen because in my delirium I’ve deleted all of my content. I’ve since learned to ‘command  s’ (save) every time I blink.

I’ve decided my best bet is to go to bed at a reasonable hour. This of course leads to waking up at an ungodly hour to burn the early morning oil so I can finish my assignment. The rest of my day is fueled by coffee and pinching myself.

I enjoy this routine though. It works for my life right now. I think it’s very important to create routines, no matter what your profession is, to get the work done. If you waited for the right moment, you’d be waiting forever.

Change is inevitable, so it’s also important to adjust these habits to accommodate whatever season of life you are in. Know when you are most productive and use that to your advantage to create great work.

2 thoughts on “Burn the midnight oil

  1. It is good to know I am not the only one that has used my laptop as a pillow on those long nights… You are doing an awesome job Shawn! I have a feeling you are going to be an amazing Engineer…:)

Leave a Reply

